Home » 4 STPPS Students Win National Merit Scholarships

4 STPPS Students Win National Merit Scholarships


Northshore High National Merit WinnersFontainebleau High National Merit Winner

The District Attorney’s office would like to congratulate the four St. Tammany Parish Public School System students who were recently honored as National Merit Scholarship winners.

In the photos above are Northshore High National Merit Scholarship Winners (left to right): Dana Park, Katherine Simmers and Benjamin Rowley, and Fontainebleau High National Merit Scholarship Winner Matthew Myrtue.

See press release below for additional details and bios of the winners.


Contact: Meredith Mendez, Director of Communications 985.898.3244/Meredith.Mendez@stpsb.org

The St. Tammany Parish Public School System has four students named among the top high school students in the nation as 2016 National Merit Scholars.

Matthew Myrtue from Fontainebleau High and Dana Park, Benjamin Rowley and Katherine Simmers from Northshore High were named winners of $2,500 National Merit Scholarships.

Out of the 1.5 million students who took the initial qualifying test, they were selected as winners for having the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in college.

“These students have been recognized as top in the nation for not only their academic success, but also their activities and service to the community. Congratulations to these outstanding students, their families and their teachers for this prestigious honor.” said Superintendent W. L. “Trey” Folse, III.

Matthew Myrtue is the Fontainebleau High Student of the Year, WWL-A+ Athlete and Wendy’s Heisman State Winner. Matthew is a member of the Cross Country and Track Team, National Hispanic Honor Society, National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Quiz Bowl, and an FHS Student Ambassador. He will attend the University of Southern California and major in Electrical Engineering.

Dana Park is a class valedictorian and AP Scholar with Distinction. She served as the Northshore High Band Drum Major for three years, is an NHS Student Ambassador, is a member of Mu Alpha Theta and National Beta Club and participated and placed in the top three for the American Taekwondo Foundation National Championships. She will attend Duke University and major in Computer Science and Economics.

Benjamin Rowley is a class valedictorian, Co-founder of the Northshore High Debate Club and participated in Louisiana Boys State. He is a member of the Northshore High swim team, robotics team, band, Debate Club and is a Life Scout for Boy Scouts. He will attend Massachusetts Institute of Technology and major in Physics and Computer Science.

Katherine Simmers is a class valedictorian, US Presidential Scholar Semifinalist, Questbridge Scholar, AP Scholar with Distinction and Randolph Book Award winner. She is NHS Governor of Ambassadors and is a member of Mu Alpha Theta, Student Council, swim team and National Honor Society. She will attend Rice University and major in Bioengineering.